Skip to main content

European Parliament after the BREXIT

On the 31st of January 2020 the United Kingdom officially left the European Union marking what is known as "Brexit Day". While for citizens and businesses not much will change until the end of the transition period, until the end of 2020, the effects of Brexit can already be seen on thepolitical level. Last week, 73 British Members of the European Parliament have left the Parliament leaving space for new MEPs from other countries. Of the 73 seats vacated by the UK leaving the EU, 27 seats will be re-allocated to better reflect the principle of degressive proportionality.

Many of the MEPs leaving have been representatives in Brussels and Strasbourg for many years and have contributed significantly to advancing the agenda of the parliament. At the same time, the decision on what will happen to their seats after the UK left the European Union was made several months before they took up their new mandate after the European election in May last year.

Overall, the size of the European Parliament will decrease from 751 to 705, as 46 of the 73 now former UK seats will be kept vacant and may be filled by representatives from future new member states of the European Union. 27 seats however will be taken up by representatives from existing member states that have, until now been on a reserve list and who will become members of the European Parliament in the next few days. We have compiled a list of those new MEPS 

European People´s Party (EPP) Deirdre Clune – Ireland
Salvatore De Meo – Italy
Gabriel Mato Adrover – Spain
Riho Terras – Estonia
Miriam Lexmann – Slovakia
Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D)Romana Jerković – Croatia
Nora MEBAREK – France
+ 1 MEP from Spain
+ 1 MEP from Romania
​Renew Europe (ex-ALDE)Barry Andrews – Ireland
Linea Søgaard-Lidell – Denmark
Sandro Gozi – France
Ilana CICUREL – France
Adrián Vázquez Lázara - Spain
+ 1 MEP from the Netherlands
​Identity & Democracy (ID)Jean-Lin Lacapelle – France
Vincenzo Sofo – Italy
+ 1 MEP from the Netherlands
​The Greens / European Free Alliance (Greens-EFA)Jakop Dalunde- Sweden
Thomas Waitz – Austria
Claude GRUFFAT – France
+1 MEP from Finnland
European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR)Sergio Berlato - Italy
Margarita de la Pisa Carrión – Spain
Dominik Tarczyńsk – Poland
+ 1 MEP from the Netherlands
European United Left/ Nordic Green Left
(GUE/ NGl)
​No new members
​Unaffiliated PartiesClara Ponsatí - Spain

Public affairs and communication are a vital part of business success. At Schuman Associates we help you building the best strategies to make sure that your message is being heard. We master the EU legislative process and procedures, we are creative and solution oriented and we will work together with you to identify specific goals, timings and desired outcomes over the medium to long term.

If you want to learn more, get in touch at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Related Posts

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to